Wash Day Routine + Deep contidioning

Sundays are for wash day, well at least for me I prefer washing my hair once a week especially on Sundays and every other week I deep condition as well. So as today is a Sunday, I thought why not let you all know what goes down on my hair wash day and since you all showed interest on my previous hair care post introduction, here is the  much awaited hair care post starting off with my wash day routine. Needless to say I’ll be featuring a lot of Shea Moisture products just because it works a lot for my hair and I love it.

Shea Moisture - Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen & Restore Shampoo

Shea Moisture – Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen & Restore Shampoo

So to wash my hair nowadays, I’m loving this shampoo by Shea Moisture which is from the Jamaican Black Castor Oil (JBCO) range and is the Strengthen and Restore Shampoo. This shampoo contains Peppermint and Apple Cider Vinegar as well as Shea butter. After washing my hair with this shampoo, my hair feels very soft and detangled it also helps a lot with my scalp Psoriasis (which is a bonus!). It has got a Vanilla like smell and lathers really well. It comes in a generous amount of 506 ml bottle. It is also very moisturising, as I have low porosity hair it helps my hair strands to retain more moisture. I wash my hair twice in the shower with this.

Tresemme  Luxurious Moisture Conditioner with Vitamin E

Tresemme Luxurious Moisture Conditioner with Vitamin E

After rinsing out my shampoo, I apply the Tresemme Vitamin E Luxurious Moisture Conditioner. This conditioner makes my hair really soft and locks in moisture, I can even finger detangle with ease and it also defines my curls and clumps them up, and sometimes, I use a Denman brush to further define my curls. I apply a generous amount of this and then place a plastic shower cap and double it up with a bigger fabric shower cap for about 10-15 minutes to allow the conditioner to soak into my hair strands while I continue showering. Afterwards, sometimes I rinse it out with lukewarm or cold water to seal in moisture. I absolutely love this product and it is an old staple of mine, I use either this or the Tresemme pro vitamins B5 and Aloe Moisture Replenish (Sadly I recently ran out of it), both of these conditioners are my all time favourites.

 

 

Shea Moisture  (left) Jamaican Black Castor Oil Stengthen and Restore Treament Masque (Right) - Superfruit Complex 10 in 1 Multi- Benefit Hair Masque

Shea Moisture
(left) Jamaican Black Castor Oil Stengthen and Restore Treament Masque
(Right) – Superfruit Complex 10 in 1 Multi- Benefit Hair Masque

Every 2 weeks, I like to deep condition my hair as it is on the drier texture. I alternate between two hair masks (which are shown on left) however out of these two hair masks by Shea Moisture, I absolutely love the Jamaican Black Castor Oil (JBCO) range. The JBCO treatment mask, absolutely does what is says, after applying a generous amount of the mask on my hair in the shower, I place two shower caps in order to trap in the hot steam as this opens up my hair cuticles and allows the products to penetrate into my hair strands. After about 30 minutes, (or more) I rinse out the product and instantly my hair strands feel stronger and curls are really defined. The first time I used it, I was shocked by the amazing result. I definitely love the JBCO hair treatment mask compared to the Superfruit complex 10 in 1 mask, however compared to the JBCO, the Superfruit complex hair mask has a more gorgeous smell that can last upto a week, other than that it doesn’t do anything much for my hair, but I alternate with it to make my JBCO hair mask last longer, (sadly it runs out after 2 uses) between both hair masks, I’ll definitely recommend the JBCO for its great benefits and it contains Peppermint and Keratin as well as Shea butter and Jamaican Black Castor Oil.

From the left - Essential oil mix, Shea Moisture JBCO leave in conditoner and JBCO styling lotion

From the left – Essential oil mix, Shea Moisture JBCO leave in conditoner and JBCO styling lotion

Afterwards rinsing out the hair mask, I lightly pat dry my hair with a towel and then proceed to styling. I usually  style my hair in a braid out,  I prefer to use the LCO method, which is the Leave-in (conditioner or water), Cream and Oil. So to begin I section my hair into 4 parts whilst it’s still damp and then first apply the JBCO leave in conditioner (which also amazing) and work that into 1  section of hair at a time, then secondly apply the JBCO styling lotion (As the Cream in the LCO method) and then lastly apply my essential oil (which consists of jojoba oil, rosemary oil and avocado oil to name a few) to seal in the products and retain moisture. After applying all products, For each of the 4 sections I do a 3 strand braid. To Protect my hair whilst I sleep at night I cover my hair with a satin scarf to let it dry overnight. By the morning time my hair is about 80-90% dried.

And that’s it for my wash day, depending on how I choose to style my hair and what result I am aiming for, I tend to switch up the products a little but other than that this is my usual wash day routine. Hope you like this post and if you do Please click the ‘Like’ button, Share and click the ‘Follow’ button to stay updated on new post.

Any questions? Leave it down int the comment section

Any blog post suggestion? Leave it down in the comment section

 

Thanks for reading!

Disclaimer : Blog Post Not Sponsored.

Leave a Reply

